Download app

Alpacto › Apps

Nipto vs Tody: a chore game for $12.99 a year, or a cleaning plan from $9.99

As of October 2026, Nipto vs Tody comes down to what you want from sharing. Nipto is a points game for people who split chores, with one purchase covering everyone and Premium at $1.99 a month or $12.99 a year. Tody plans the cleaning by how dirty each room is, and it is free for one person but needs a paid plan to share.

Nipto vs Tody: a cleaning caddy, the printable Household chore ideas sheet and a phone with the Alpacto home screen on a kitchen table

In short

Nipto turns chores into a game. Tasks earn eggs, there is a weekly race, and the premium tier adds rewards, kid profiles and parental approval. Its site says the core app “stays free and ad-free” and that one purchase covers everyone.

Tody does not assign dates. It tracks how long since each room was cleaned.

Its core plan is free forever for one person. Sharing with a household needs Premium+, priced by household size: $25 a year for two, $40 for six, $80 for twelve.

For a couple who want a fair-split score, Nipto is the cheaper fit. For a person who wants the house cleaned without a scoreboard, it is Tody.

Nipto vs Tody: premium prices side by side

Read on October 15, 2026, from Nipto’s site, Tody’s pricing page and the App Store listings.

App and tierWhat you getPriceTrialWho pays
Nipto, freeThe core app, ad-free; 5 free schedules (recurring task groups); limited history$0Not neededNobody
Nipto PremiumUnlimited schedules, parental approval of kids’ tasks, stats and full history, custom points and gems, widgets, Siri and smart home$1.99 monthly, $12.99 annual, and a “Premium” line at $17.99 with no period printedNot stated“One purchase covers everyone”
Tody, freeThe core cleaning plan with no ads, including assigning chores and automatic rotation; free forever for one person$0Not neededNobody
Tody PremiumMultiple homes, Focus Timer$9.99 a year30 days on every upgradeOne person
Tody Premium+Household sync across devices, FairShare targets, monthly household reportsDuo (2 members) $25, Family (6) $40, Team (12) $80, per year30 daysOne account for the household, priced by size
Whether Nipto’s $17.99 “Premium” is a one-time purchase is not confirmed: the store prints no period and Nipto does not say so. A 2023 review calls it “the one time charge”. Nipto’s trial length is not stated anywhere we looked.

Per year, a pair pays $12.99 for Nipto Premium or $25 for Tody Duo. Tody Premium+ is the only one of the two where the sharing itself is what you buy.

Which of the two is for you.

Nipto app review and Tody app review: what each is for

Nipto

Tasks earn eggs, the household races each week, and gems and rewards are part of it. Kids can have managed profiles without a phone, and tasks can rotate between people. It runs on iPhone, Android and the web.

The App Store holds 4.7 from 894 ratings, and Google Play 4.34 from 6,887 ratings with 500K+ downloads. The site claims over a million downloads, which is its own number.

Tody

Tody shows what is due by how long a room has been left. There are no deadlines and no alarms by default, and the app is gamified. It runs on iPhone, iPad and Android.

The App Store holds 4.8 from 10,757 ratings, and Google Play 4.73 from 21,678 ratings with 1M+ downloads.

What people complain about

We read recent App Store reviews of both. Tody gave us 50 reviews from December 19, 2025 to October 11, 2026, and only nine were one to three stars. Nipto returned 24 text reviews across five years and only three from the last year, so its sample is weak.

Tody

  • “Subscription required to share with other people. This was not made clear before downloading the app” (August 26, 2026).
  • “As soon as I shared it to my family all the tasks disappeared” (December 30, 2025).
  • Colours sit behind the paywall: “you have to pay if you want to change it” (April 16, 2026).

Nipto

  • “It will not open or load” (May 22, 2025).
  • “you have to pay to literally use the whole app” (June 8, 2025).
  • After a redesign: “In one update they have completely changed the entire layout … it doesn’t even seem to be an option to retroactively mark off chores” (October 9, 2026).

The pattern is that Tody’s sharing cost is the surprise, and Nipto’s trouble is stability and a recent layout change.

Who should pick which

Pick Nipto if you want motivation. It suits a couple or a family who like a score, a weekly race and rewards, and it is the cheaper way to share. Pick Tody if one person keeps the home and wants a smart plan without a scoreboard, or if you are happy to pay $25 a year to sync two phones.

These two come from our own reading of the sources above, not from a test of the apps.

If you want a fair split without a game or a plan

Neither app records what the two of you agreed. Nipto scores effort, and Tody tracks rooms, not people. If your chore trouble is that one of you thinks something was agreed and the other does not, that is a different job.

Our own app

Alpacto is our own app, so take this section with that in mind.

Alpacto turns a chore into a pact both of you signed: what counts as done, by when, and what it is worth in coins.

One marks it done, the other confirms, and neither is the admin of the house. Coins are a scoreboard between you, not money.

We do not quote Alpacto’s price here, since this page only prices competitors from their listings. The store page shows it before you install. The chore split calculator can help you decide the split first.

Questions people ask

Nipto vs Tody: which is cheaper?

For two people, Nipto: Premium is $1.99 a month or $12.99 a year, and one purchase covers everyone. Tody Duo is $25 a year, and Tody is free only for one person.

What does Nipto Premium cost?

The App Store lists Premium Monthly at $1.99, Premium Annual at $12.99 and a Premium line at $17.99 with no period. Nipto’s site says one purchase covers everyone.

What does Tody Premium cost?

Premium is $9.99 a year and Premium+ is $25 for two members, $40 for six and $80 for twelve, each with a 30-day trial on Tody’s pricing page.

Is Tody free?

Yes for one person: the core cleaning plan is free with no ads. Sharing with a household needs Premium+.

Is Nipto free?

The core app is free and ad-free, with 5 free schedules. Unlimited schedules and parental approval need Premium.

Which has better reviews?

Tody: 4.8 from 10,757 App Store ratings and 4.73 on Google Play, against Nipto’s 4.7 from 894 and 4.34. The two stores count different people.

When you need an agreement, not a score

Alpacto turns a chore into a pact you both signed: what counts as done, by when, and what it is worth in coins. One marks it done, the other confirms.

Features and prices come from Nipto’s site, Tody’s pricing page and the App Store listings for Nipto and Tody, read on October 15, 2026. Ratings are also from Nipto and Tody on Google Play. Quotes are from recent App Store reviews of Nipto and Tody. Alpacto is our own app. How we write these pages: our methodology.
Scroll to Top

Alpacto is almost ready.

Leave your email and we’ll write on launch day.

Your phone

By leaving your email you agree that we write to you once about the Alpacto launch. See the privacy policy.